Running Out of Photos, Other Problems, May Have To Shut Down Page

I had been hoping I wouldn’t have to, but today is as good a day as any other to put out news of this nature. I have to announce that I am running out photos to post. Despite the NYPL and its half million images, the NYC Department of Records‘ with 800K,  and library of congress’s 14M, the amount of really good new pictures available is still dwindling, all the really good photos have already been posted.

blackpic

New York, Unknown Location, 1879 (Photo By IM Dark)

In a last gasp effort to find more, I went to the sites we know some of the most original  can be found for my page, but google image search and bing image search surprisingly only turned up the same photos that have been posted dozens of times before. And this is just one of several problems affecting the page, here are four others:

blackpic

New York, Same Location  1889 (Photo by UC Little)

1. People Are Joining Too Quickly. Since hitting 40,000 fans a few weeks ago, new membership has started to pick up way too fast. It used to take a year to get a new thousand fans, now it about five days. I used to really have to work to get people to notice the page at all, now it’s way too easy.

2. Not Enough People Point Out When Something Is Still There Occasionally I post something that is still there, yet only a handful of people post something to point out the mistake. Why are so few ready to point that out? Even just a simple posting with the words “It’s Still There” with no other explanation is so refreshing to see.

whitescreen

New York at  exact time of Big Bang
 (Photo By NU Face)

3. Posts on Page Are Too Cordial  Isn’t it boring when a post goes up and there is no heated personal argument after? Luckily some of the photos in the last month have attracted people from out of nowhere who have started arguing with everyone else about the pictures and got the fireworks to go off. It’s great to see, but it just doesn’t happen enough.

4. No Future In This: I had visions that when I started this page that I might be able to get a few billion fans within the first couple days, get a seven figure salary job using my facebook page marketing skills, and have several best seller photo books out by now. I am nowhere near to any of this, and so maybe I am not very good at this.

So, with no new pictures to post, no way good way to find any new ones, one billion fans nowhere in the pages near future, and nobody arguing enough, the only way out may be to shut down the places no more page. I will keep you posted. 

TB

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. larryqpc

     /  April 1, 2013

    April Fools!

    Lawrence C. Starr, President Qualified Plan Consultants, Inc. 46 Daggett Drive West Springfield, MA 01089 413-736-2066 (office) 413-781-5997 (fax)

    Reply
  2. Judi

     /  April 1, 2013

    Well, I and my far-flung extended family, who all used to live on LI and grew up in the 50s, shared your photo postings on FB. I appreciate that you did this and wish you well with your next big thing!

    Reply
  3. Deb

     /  April 1, 2013

    Happy April Fool’s Day to YOU too, Todd!

    Reply
  4. So will we have a “websites that are no more” page? or would you like to argue about that? Have a happy Hilaria

    Reply
  5. today IS April 1st

    Reply
  6. JT Chiarella

     /  April 1, 2013

    Bollocks! LOL

    Reply
  7. Patricia Conway

     /  April 1, 2013

    OMG! You were the first to make an April Fool of me! Usually it was my son who “got” me. Love this site. At my age, I have seen too many wonderful places & sites disappear. Thank you for bringing back those precious moments in time!

    Reply
  8. This is part of the reason I suggested to you that you move all this to a website with searchable galleries. A blog format only shows you the most recent X-number of photos and comments. Makes it hard to really browse the photos. A website with galleries of photo albums can be easily listed by subject. Makes it easier for billions of users to browse and comment on the entire collection of photos and not just the most recent ones. And you can set up Google ads to help monetize the traffic, fulfilling your dream of extreme wealth :) I’m glad to help you make the transition if you like.

    Reply
    • Hi David, let’s talk about what you have in mind. I am not sure it will work or be a fit, but I think the page has become more popular so it would be worth at least discussing.

      Reply
  9. Howard Berkun

     /  April 2, 2013

    Listen to David Lynch. Good man !!! ………btw, got to admit, i was fooled too.

    Reply
  10. You had me going there for a minute….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

